CERA actuary

The CERA Enterprise Risk Management credential is the most comprehensive and rigorous globally-recognised Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) designation.


In November 2009, 14 actuarial education organisations from around the world took the unprecedented step of agreeing to collaborate to develop and administer a new qualification in ERM, the Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary* (CERA) – a ground breaking achievement, and the birth of the Global CERA Treaty.


The CERA Global Association (CGA) grants actuarial organisations the right to award the global CERA qualification to individual actuaries who have satisfied the requisite education and training requirements set out in the CERA Global Treaty.


The Koninklijk Actuarieel Genootschap (AG) is an award signatory for CERA.


Why choose CERA?

The CERA qualification provides risk professionals with strong ERM knowledge that drives better business decisions. Professional, ethical and trusted, with impeccable standards and integrity, a professional with the CERA qualification is able to effectively communicate ideas with leadership and is qualified to play varying roles within an organisation, from risk manager to chief risk officer and more.


How can I get the CERA qualification?

Members of AG are eligible to receive the CERA qualification after completion of the CERA programme of the European Actuarial Academy (EAA). Please visit the EAA website for more information.


CERA’s dedicated website

To find out how CERA can enhance your career opportunities, go to the CERA global website.


*All signatories to the Treaty use the acronym 'CERA', but CERA variously translates as one of the following, according to local requirements:


  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Analyst
  • Certified Enterprise Risk Actuary